Give a Little Bit of Heart & Sole…

No, unlike Lindsay over at Chasing the Kenyans (who rocked it by the way), I’m not going to post me singing. Trust me, no one wants to hear that.

No, fortunately for you the title of my blog has to do with the Heart and Sole 5k benefiting Alpine Christian Academy; which I had the honor of running in this morning! What a fun race, and what made it even funner (yes, I know, but it’s my blog and I can use funner anytime I want) is that I got to run it with a very good friend (and another very good friend was manning the aid station!).

99.999% of my running is done solo, because I prefer it that way. It gives me time to think and to, quite honestly, BE ALONE. I don’t get much alone time (homeschool), and really enjoy it durning my runs. In fact, I would probably be happy with being a hermit (I can hold quite and interesting conversation with myself… you should see me in the grocery store).

Today, however, was a nice change from the norm. We were able to chat and laugh and get to know each other better, which is pretty cool. PLUS I ran faster, not because she made me or I felt that I had to in order to keep her happy (I told her from the get go that I was a SLOW runner, and she graciously said she’d let me set the pace), it just happened. I set out to keep a solid 10:30 pace and we finished with a solid 10:07 pace! WooHoo!! I think running solo allowed me appreciate and enjoy today all that much more. Honestly, I’m not sure that I would always want a running buddy… but this occasional run was FANTASTIC!

This 5k was a great way to start a Saturday, and I’m glad that I was able to participate!

Here’s to hoping your Saturday holds great things!

3 responses »

  1. lol thanks for the shoutout. (it’s ok, i can’t sing either – clearly!)

    i run alone 99% of the time too, but sometimes it’s nice to change it up. congrats on the race and holding a great pace!

  2. Thanks for your kind words about my recent half marathon. I get where you are coming from because the vast majority of my running is alone as well. We all need some time to ourselves and running is mine.

Leave a Reply

