Azalea Trail 10k Recap

This past weekend was the Tyler 10k. It was a GREAT run, and I had a lot of fun. The scenery was beautiful, and I felt fantastic throughout the entire course. There was one “big” hill (that I chose to walk), but other than that you couldn’t ask for a better course (there were little hills through out, but nothing terrible). The picture above is the start/finish line. I know there are better pictures of it, but I didn’t want to search through all those photos again, so you get stuck with this one.

There were 661 finishers and I placed 499, a solid middle of the pack finish. My chip time was 1:08:40 (making it an 11:02 pace!) and I am VERY happy with that! And, since it’s my first 10k… AUTOMATIC PR!! Phil forgot the camera, so here are some race day photos from the pros.

If you look right in the middle of the text you’ll see me in the sea of white shirts. I’m in green (or teal or whatever) with a pink hat.

 

I believe this is the start of the race. Most of the course was on brick streets, which was nice!

 

This was probably around mile 2 or 3. I was waving to people cheering us on (I think).

 

That’s me… behind the guy on the left.

 

Closing the distance… LOL

At the finish line (or close to it). I don’t really like this picture, but since it’s the only one I have I’ll use it.

 

After it was all said and done, we went to go eat at The Egg and I. It was a great start to a wonderful day. I’m already planning on running this course again next year!

Have a rockin’ Thursday!

PS… can I just say that most people who run these types of things should WEAR SHIRTS…. that is all.

 

4 responses »

  1. I thought it was a half and when the time said 1:08! I was like WOW : ) Then I reread and was like DUH it was a 10K. I like the last picture it looks like you did a little pause to get the perfect running pose.

  2. Congratulations on the 10K! I love racing. It looked like a beautiful day! And, yes, I agree, people should wear shirts when running. Do you find it’s always the people who really shouldn’t run shirtless that always do!!

Leave a Reply

