What’s Next.

So, I ran and finished this thing called a Half Marathon, and some of you may be wondering “What’s Next”?

I want to keep fresh goals and races in my future, to help keep me motivated. After the Half, I took about  week off, and really think it helped me refocus, and get ready to run. I felt great coming back and my legs haven’t been giving me any problems! WooHoo! Now that’s what I’m sayin’.

So, what is next up for me?

In March I have the Azalea 10k run. If you’ve not been to Tyler, TX during the Azalea Trails, you are really missing out. This course meanders through the Historic Azalea District, with all it’s flowering beauty. I’ve heard there are some hills in this course, but I think it’s going to be fun. I’m looking forward to the 10k distance as well. Right now my daily runs are right around 5 miles, so I think I’ll really enjoy this distance. The run is scheduled for March 26th at 10am, so it’s actually a Saturday run.

Then in June I’m hoping to run the Cherry Festival 5k in Illinois. A lot depends on our summer schedule, but I’m penciling it in right now.

Then comes the next big race in October… another Half Marathon! I’m very excited and think I can train even smarter for this one. Again, I’m not going to get super hung up on time and speed, but know I’d really like to finish stronger than I did with the first one. I dropped the cross training toward the end of training for the Miracle Match, and think that really effected by performance. SO….. this time, I’m diligently sticking with weights and elliptical work on my cross days. I’m not running 4 days a week, but think I can make up the miles of the day with 2 days of cross, so hopefully I can still meet the 1000+ challenge.

Right now, for the past week or so, I’ve averaged about 19 miles total- 3 days of running (2 weekly and 1 long) and 2 days of elliptical. It will be tight, but I’ll come very close to meeting the challenge.

It’s good to be on the other side of the Half, and I feel like I have really accomplished something important. I have a friend who has been running for 15+ years, and I hope to follow in his footsteps! I’d love to be 70 and still running (he’s not 70… I’d just love to be 70…).

Thanks for sticking with me! Here’s to another 13.1 miles to go!!

6 responses »

  1. Just discovered your blog. Congrats on your first half. I just did my first in January and it’s funny, I used the same What’s next graphic on my blog.

Leave a Reply

