Miracle Match Recap

My family! I couldn’t have done it without them!

Here it is… finally! My race report. Life has been crazy lately, and I’m just now getting a chance to sit down and get it done. Let me say first I am SO glad I did this. It was a wonderful experience and I’m glad that I stuck with it and finished what I set out to do. My “A” goal was to complete the race and I did that. I didn’t accomplish my “B” and “C” goals, and I can finally say that’s okay. I’ll be honest, there was a bit of disappointment with time, but I’m giving myself grace on that issue. My whole family was there to support me, which made it an incredible experience! The only thing better would to have been to actually run it WITH Beth, but we will do it together SOMETIME! Now on to the recap!

PHOTOS

Fueling up before the race. Notice it’s still dark…. don’t ask about the face, because I don’t know. Notice the nice straight hair….

 

My number. I was glad that “13” was it there, since it’s one of my lucky numbers! Again, don’t ask about the face… it was early.

 

I placed myself at the very END of the starting line.

 

Beth, Jude (my kiddo) and I. I think I’m talking to Rachel, but I’m not sure.

 

Me and my biggest Cheerleader!

 

My Mom. I’m telling her not to cry… but she cried anyway.

The cutest Cheerleader EVER!!

 

My support crew. You can’t read Judah’s sign, but it says “Run.” yes, with the period.

 

I think this is around mile 5ish, maybe 5.5

 

Giving the 2 thumbs up! I was feeling so good at this point.

The first part of the run was fantastic! The weather was perfect and I was feeling strong. My left calf hurt through the entire race, but it was a “bearable” hurt. You know, the kind that is there, but you can put it aside and just run through it. There were so many watches beeping, that it took me a while to get used to it, and not look at mine every time one went off. The course took us through the zoo, and that was fun. There were so many people out cheering us on during that part of the race. I was in a groove and feeling very good up until the massive hill around mile 9.

Letting the crew know that Chris and Hunter were on their way to join them. Either that or I was doing the hand jive…

 

Between mile 12 and 13. I was working through the WORST leg/ calf cramps of my LIFE.

That hill took it’s toll on me! I think I made the mistake of trying trying to run up it, instead of just letting myself walk it. Rookie mistake, probably. I think that decision brought on the massive leg cramps at mile 10 that stuck with me the rest of the race. I have NEVER had cramping like this before. My right quad felt like a huge golf ball, and my calves were making my toes curl under! At every station I would fuel and grab a banana, but none of that helped. Needless to say, this caused me to walk much of Mile 10-12. I was bummed, but what are you going to do. At least I didn’t quit!

The final stretch. I “sprinted” to the finish line…. kinda… but I was running!

 

My medal! Notice the not-so-nice not straight hair….

 

My family! (Beth, Chris and Hunter are behind the camera)

My finishing time was 2:54:12; about 10 minutes slower that what I would have liked it to be. I know that I did the best I could under the circumstances, but it made the moment a little bitter-sweet. BUT, I had my whole family there cheering me on. Every time I saw them I’d get this huge boost and renewed determination. Coming into the end, I saw my Dad up on the bridge and I knew I could finish and finish strong. It was GREAT and  I’ve already signed up for my next half, on Oct. 9th and am really looking forward to it!

The trophy Phil got for me. This is what it said:

“CELEBRATING THE SUCESS OF

MINDY ARMOUR IN FINISHING THE

HALF MARATHONG RUN ON

JANUARY 30, 2011″

Phil got me a trophy! Poor guy stayed up late one night to order it, and you can see what the inscription said. He has a replacement with everything spelled right, but there is NO WAY I’m replacing it! Who else has completed a “Half Marathong”? We were all trying to figure out which half it was…..

Thanks for sticking with me through all of this adventure! Your encouragement and support has been one of the things that has kept me going. THANK YOU! I plan to keep on running with a 10k scheduled for March and then the half in October (perhaps another half next January?). This has been an incredible life changing journey, thanks for sharing it with me!

Until then, happy running!

 

 

11 responses »

  1. I am so proud of you! I love the pics it was almost like being there, however I wish I was actually there. It is amazing that when we see our dad’s how much stronger we feel. Not to be a downer but boy do I miss my Dad! I am so glad and thankful for that you share yours with me. As for the curly hair…it didn’t look to bad:) I think it just resembles how hard you worked and the effort you made. I also agree with the trophy don’t change a thing:) Love you!

  2. Awesome! congrats! Even though you didnt go the time you wanted at least you didnt quit!! I’m sure your cramps made you think about it several times!

  3. You did FANTASTIC!! So so cool – I LOVE that he got you a trophy, and that you got such a boost from seeing your family on the course!

    Congratulations!!

  4. Mindy, Great recap! It sounds like a great half…all except for that cramp. I can sadly say BTDT. I hope your leg is feeling better. Remember to wear your medal around occasionally!

  5. Yay You!!!!!! I am soooo proud of you and loved the recap! I hope I can come cheer you on sometime! 🙂

  6. What an awesome support group you have! Congratulations on your first half marathon. You did awesome! So what’s the next half on Oct 9?

Leave a Reply

