Evaluation

Hey there! Hope everyone had a great Christmas. Now it’s time to start looking toward the New Year, and everything involved with that (yeah, those pesky things called resolutions….).

I’ve been reading through my blog list and this post got my attention. In it Robin (the author) was talking about her feelings toward running. How, while she enjoyed it, she could not say that she was passionate about it. She went to list the things that she enjoyed about running. It’s an interesting, thought provoking post, and you should go read it.

It got me thinking (see, I said it was thought provoking). What is MY attitude toward running. What space does running fill in my life. What space do I want running to fill in my life. What am I passionate about? Do I really want to go there? Questions, questions, questions. Sometimes it’s easier not to answer the questions.

Here’s a dirty little secret… I usually avoid making resolutions at New Years. It just takes the pressure off. Lazy? Safe? I don’t know, but it is what it is.

But this year I do have a couple of goals I’d like to at least attempt to meet:

1. Possibly run 1000 miles in 2011. In a 52 week year I would have to run approximately 19.23 miles a week. That’s roughly 4 more miles a week than I currently run. While I believe it’s possible with my three day a week running schedule that really doesn’t give me any time off. So we’ll see. I WOULD however, like to run more miles than I did this year. My total miles for this year (strictly running miles) is right around 622. I know I can do more next year!

2. I would like to run at least one more Half this year. Since Beth won’t be able to run this one with me, I’d like to run one with her!

3. I would like to run more 5k and 10k’s this year.

4. I would like to keep on running.

There you go. Those are my running goals for 2011. Pretty simple, and pretty attainable.

In other news, it is now officially one month and a day until the Miracle Match Half! Here is what the rest of my weekends look like:

  • This week I ran 12.5 miles on Tuesday for my long run
  • 1/8- 4 miles
  • 1/14- 14 miles
  • 1/22- 5 miles
  • 1/30- HALF MARATHON!

Do you see that 14 miles in there?? YIKES! But AFTER I run that, I will have no doubt that I can finish the half. So it’s all good (this schedule is taken from the Jeff Galloway website for half marathon training).

I hope you all have a great New Years celebration! Be safe!

 

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. I have a “thing” about setting a specific mileage goal because sometimes you can push a little too hard and end up injuring yourself. Not saying you would necessarily of course.

    I suggest making it a two-part goal: a) run more miles in 2011 than you did in 2010. b) run 1,000 miles.

    You can def reach for (and hit) 1k, but this way you have a little flexibility for life’s many curve balls 🙂

Leave a Reply

