A Winner is Me!

YES!

Today was my 11 mile run. It was AWESOME! I felt sooooo good. I mapped out my route. Drove my route. Rehearsed my route mentally. I ate sensibly the night before (even though we went to Bruno’s and their pizza is to die for, I only ate 2 small slices!). I got up. Drank some coffee. Pooped (sorry, but I did and I was thankful, empty bowels are happy bowels on an 11 mile run). I GU’d and hydrated before leaving. I prepared my water bottle for Phil to meet me with at mile 6. I had my Bondi hat. I was ready!

I had a plan, and I was DETERMINED to stick with that plan. My intervals were 3/1 and I stuck with them religiously. I kept my pace slow at the beginning intentionally. And it all worked. As Hannibal would say (from the A-Team… not Lecter mind you.. HE would say something like “with fava beans and a nice Chianti” and it really wouldn’t fit this blog post at all…. )”I LOVE it when a plan comes together!”

I finished today in 2 hours and 9 minutes (11:46). Even better, I finished and was able to WALK! WooHoo! I mean my legs were tired, but I didn’t have any cramping like I did the last time.  IF I am able to do this in January, that should put me finishing the Half at a little over 2.5 hours. Today, at mile 9, I picked up the pace and finished with an empty tank. For the Half, I’m going to wait a while longer before doing that, and hopefully finish as strong as I did today.

Here are my A, B, C goals for the Half:

A Goal: To FINISH!

B Goal: to finish with a 12:00 pace

C Goal: to finish with an 11:00 pace

 

That’s it. Keeping it simple.

 

Well, that’s it for today! Hope you all have a great weekend!

13 responses »

Leave a Reply

