Slump?

I’ve felt in a slump lately. For the month of November I logged a whopping 40 miles (some log that in a WEEK)… October? 67 miles. Slightly more respectable. I do have my excuses for November. We were in the final throes of Oliver! and lots of late nights, meant lots of doing nothing the next day. Then there was the week after Oliver! (the exclamation point is necessary, to get the full feeling of the play) was over, when I pretty much just sat on the couch (this was the week of Thanksgiving too). BUT, I did run a 5k Turkey Trot ON Thanksgiving day… which I should get some bonus points for (it also happened to be my fastest non-treadmill 5k run…. running on Thanksgiving AND a PR?? I rock). It was a virtual thing, so I was only able to print out a participation thing, but it was still fun.

All this to say, I’ve still been running, just lately I’ve felt a little blah while running. I’m sure it’s normal, and I’m sure it will pass, but it’s been there. I really hope that registering for the Half will start to bring me out of it.

In all of this a question is bothering me. Can I stay motivated to run without a race in the future? How will I stay motivated if I choose just to run for the fun of it, and because it’s good for me? I’m not sure that I want to be in the place where I need a race to motivate me…. I want to run for the joy of running. Hmmm… all these thoughts.

Well, the Mavs game is in it’s final throes, and they are leading and about to win their 10th straight game, so I’m going to sign off!

Keep on keeping on!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

