It’s All Relative

I’ve got to keep reminding myself that’s it all relative. What, you ask, is all relative? Why pace of course! I had a very gentle sweet reminder of that today on my Daily Mile activity.

For the last week or so, I’ve been nursing a calf strain. It’s just now starting to feel better, so I’m taking it slow and easing back into my weekly runs. When I logged today’s mileage I wrote, “Nice slow run on the treadmill. I think I’m going to move it back outside on Thursday. Leg felt really good.” (my pace was 12:28), and really didn’t think anything about it after that.

A few hours later, I checked back in and a blogging friend Meredith had made this comment, “I am going to trade the word “slow” for “relaxed” in my mind, because your slow pace is my GOAL pace! LOL”. I know that she was joking, but her comment really made me think about perspective.

Now, usually I’m the one reading something and saying…. “man, they just don’t see how fast they are going right?”…. or, “I could only DREAM of having a time in a half that he/she is complaining about”….. “their BAD race is my DREAM race” (you get the idea).

Each of us have our own goals and abilities, and while this doesn’t mean we can’t be honest (I felt that today my run was slow) with what we say; it might do us good to step back and look at our accomplishments. Yeah, I ran “relaxed” (I’m choosing to use Meredith’s rephrasing of my pace) for 4 miles, but hey! I ran the 4 miles. Yeah, you might have finished your half in 3+ hours (having still not run a half, I’m really unsure of what my time will be), but you chose to get out there and run it! I guess what I’m saying is that we all would probably be a little better off if we just cut ourselves some slack.

“Hey, I ate the whole bag of chips in one setting!! I SO ROCK!” (okay, maybe that’s not quite the goal you should aim for…. unless they are really GOOD chips).

Now, go cut yourself some slack and realize just how AWESOME you are!

(I got my goodies from Crystal’s giveaway in the mail today! A whole bunch of GU goodness that I can’t wait to try out. Thanks so much, Crystal!!)

13 responses »

  1. Yes, I was saying it in a joking manner…. but I LOVE that you are going to cut yourself some slack! You are doing amazing, and you inspire me daily! 🙂

    I love that I provoked a “deep thought,” by the way!

  2. i hope the recovery socks help jim and nancy feel better! let me know how they work out 🙂

    i used to be bad about comparing myself to others – i don’t do that anymore and it makes running so much better! so what if i don’t run as fast as so-and-so, i run pretty fast for ME. that’s all that matters.

  3. I totally agree!
    I was running with my TNT coach on Saturday and he was talking about how runners have gotten much slower over the years. He said that when he started running 28 years ago, he didn’t know people could run slower than a 7-minute mile. I said when I started running 2 years ago, I didn’t know people could run faster than an 11-min mile!

Leave a Reply

