Embracing Limits and Such

Embrace —Synonyms
2.  adopt, espouse, welcome. 3.  seize. 7.  comprise, cover, embody.

Apparently, I’m not built for speed. I try… over and over. But it seems the only things I accomplish when I try to speed things up are a) finishing at the same pace as my slow runs (how exactly this happens I’m unsure) and 2) I hurt myself. Since neither of these outcomes are stellar, I’ve decided to just let it go, and embrace what I am!

Onto other things. Over at SUAR Beth blogged about the Subway Commit to Fit challenge. The whole idea is to make a commitment to healthier choices. Anyone who knows me, knows that I think diets are HORRIBLE and rarely work. Bottom line is the faster you take off the weight, the faster it comes back and brings it’s friends (evil, evil, evil). But choosing to make one healthy change usually has a ripple effect that spreads across your entire life. The easier it is to make that change(deciding to walk outside 2 nights a week for 30 minutes), the more likely it will become part of who you are and as a result is more likely to hang around.

Crystal, over at Am I runner… or just crazy, is celebrating her 6 month anniversary with running (yes, we runners do odd things like that). Congrats to her!! What a great commitment to a healthy change! Her post got me to looking at my dates. Today (10/7/10) marks my 277th day of my lifestyle change. 40 weeks…. approximately 10 months! That is almost a YEAR! (and yes, I make my parents proud of my mad math skills… college really paid off).

Back on February 4th of this year I blogged about habits (here is the link if you would like to read that brilliant work of literature). And how for changes that are hard it could take long time for them become part of your regular routine. But, isn’t that what makes things great? Those things that are hard, take a lot of work and investment, and really hang around? A great marriage, a great friendship, a great family? All those things develop over time. All those things make you want to cry, want to quit sometimes, but you know they are worth digging deep for and hanging on to. And when you finally realize that they are part of who you are, you’d never change a thing.

That’s what one healthy change can become. That’s what deciding to run on the treadmill one day in Dec. of 2009 did for me. That’s what saying “yes” to running a half marathon did in my life. Will I ever become an elite runner, no. But can I say that running has changed my life for the better, yes. I’m glad I’ve stuck to it; aches, pains and all.

Whatever that one change is for you… embrace it! Now, where’s my chocolate….


9 responses »

  1. Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 I love your caution sign. very fitting for me today… i went for a run at the park. my hubby, who is way faster than i, started at the same time. i was able to keep up with him for 1 tenth going a 7:20 pace. after that tenth was over my calves and shins were on fire. i thought of your “jim” and “nancy” stories!

  2. I am always the last of all my friends when running a race, and I am fine with that. We all know that they will be waiting around for me and nobody has every complained 🙂 I just enjoy running the race so that is what I concentrate on. I do try to increase my time but it doesn’t always (or normally) happen lol. Keep up the running for yourself 🙂

  3. I’m with you. I will never win a race (or even place). Well, I might if only two other people are running. But what are the chances of that?

    But I love running and who it’s made me become.

    🙂

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

