Rear in Gear

It’s time to get back to cross training and lifting weights again. I let it slip while getting my son started on his program, but now that he’s…. cough… OFF AND RUNNING (you knew it was coming, didn’t you??)… I think it’s time for me to get my schedule back to normal. Jude’s doing great with his running, but he likes to go at 1:30 pm; I like to run at 7:30 am, so we got a membership at the local college and it has an indoor track. He can do his intervals without me running beside him now. I go watch, keep his time and read a book….it works for everyone. I think the element of “college girls” are in the room diminished the “it’s cool to run with mom” factor. I do get a little wave every now and then.

I love feeling strong, and I love lifting weights. I find that doing upper body stuff really balances out my running. I also need to do the bike or elliptical on my off days, but don’t like either as much as I like running, so that’s been a challenge too.

And forget swimming water and I don’t mix. Let’s put it this way: I shower only because I live in proximity to other humans (okay, that may blowing it out of proportion a TAD, but not much). Before you start thinking I’m the grossest person on Earth, I do have my reasons. When I was a kid I’d itch like crazy after every shower or encounter with water (scratch till I bleed crazy). I guess I learned to associate water with very unpleasant outcomes. I don’t have that problem any more. I DO shower, and I DO shower regularly. Just so we’re clear.  It’s just water is to get into and out of quickly. Did I mention I’m married to a therapist?

Now back to our regularly scheduled post:

This next week I’m getting my rear in gear. Not that I’ve been lazy, just off schedule. The past month I’ve felt that I haven’t really had a focus on what I’m doing during the week, and I’ve felt a little willy-nilly (what a fun word!). If a person can be totally flexible and thrive on schedules all at the same time, I’m that person!

Here’s what I’m hoping to get back to:

M/F: cross train and weights

T/H/Sat: run

W/Sun: off

Well, I hope you enjoy your Saturday. Tomorrow we’re going to a corn maze here in town once Phil gets back into town. The weather should be perfect, and I’m really looking forward to it.

Oh, I’ve added a list of giveaways on the right (over there under “running giveaways” —->), with the dates they end. Go check them out, you just might win!

Happy trails!

9 responses »

  1. that’s crazy about the water. sometimes i have that effect but not always. does it happen with any water that touches your skin? or maybe just ‘hard’ water? i have read before about people who were allergic to water. as someone with allergies and sensitive (aka incredibly itchy) skin, i can feel for you!

    • I’m not sure what it was. It doesn’t effect me as much now as an adult, but there are still times that I’ll itch after a shower or after getting out of a pool. It may have had something to do with hard water, but I’ll probably never know! 🙂

  2. This is my week of getting back into the groove. I have been really off with my workouts b/c of school starting back up and the kids giving me the plague…this is the week that I am back to the grind stone..I need the scale numbers to start to go down! lol

Leave a Reply

