Not This Time

I had every intention of running a good 6 miles toady. In fact, I was feeling so good last night that I thought, “Heck, I might even go for 7 or 8”. I was fired up to try my new GU Chocolate Outrage. I was ready….. Sadly my right calf (hence forth called “jim” because I get tired of writing the word “calf” and I think it will add some flair to this entry) didn’t share my enthusiasm.

If you’ll remember last Saturday I ran 12.42 miles, which is very close to a half marathon. Towards the end of that jim (HA! caught you didn’t I) started to cramp up, so I stopped and called it a day. I also reported that I KNEW, deep down inside, that I should have taken the week off and let jim recover…but I didn’t. Now I really wish I had.

Fast forward to this morning. Right out of bed jim felt funky, but I just thought, “No worries, once I get moving it will be fine”. I got a banana, and had a GU, went to go get dressed, packed a couple extra packs of GU in my nifty water bottle zip pocket (remember those extra miles I might add on) and headed out the door.

The first step into my run and I felt it. I probably should have stopped right there and gone back to bed, but I pushed on. I was stupid. By mile one it still didn’t feel better, and I told myself if by mile 2 it wasn’t gone I’d stop. Well I stopped, and I’m hoping I did so soon enough. As I limped up the drive way my husband was coming out the door to “wait” for me. Boy did I surprise him… not much of a wait. Right now jim is very sore, my left jim (maybe I should call that one nancy) feels fine. I’ve decided that I am FIRMLY taking this next week off.. PERIOD. No ifs, ands or buts.

I have two pair of Asics, one I’ve been running in since January and the other I got for Mother’s Day. I’ve been rotating them to help the new pair last longer, so I’ve been running in the old pair (since my 12 miles) and I’m wondering if that could have contributed to poor jim’s demise. Just in case that is one of the culprits, I’ve decide to “retire” them just to make sure. I ordered a new pair and will rotate them with my new old pair (did you keep up with that?). Hopefully this combined with the compression sleeves will help me avoid this issue in the future.

I chalk this one up to life. It’s not a fail, so I’m not going to call it one. I guess jim and nancy just decided they needed some time off, and if I can be honest, I think they’ve earned one. December will mark a year of running for me! WOO!

Hope you’ve had a great weekend, and please take care of your jim and nancys!

4 responses »

  1. you have a great writing style/voice. i’m glad you commented on my blog so i could discover you!

    well you know i am struggling lately, but hopefully jim and nancy start feeling better soon for you. do you use a foam roller? it helps with my soreness.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’ve not tried a foam roller yet. I’ve read about them and it’s been on my mind to try one, this might be a great time to do so! Thanks!! And I hope you feel better very soon, too!

Leave a Reply

