GU and Great Deals!

I’ve been hearing about GU all over the place: Runner’s World magazine, different running blogs, online stores, etc. But, I’ve always been a little afraid to try the stuff. See I have issues…. (my husband is a therapist, so no worries), I’m borderline very picky about what I eat. I was afraid that this would be hard to get past my gag reflex (it is very sensitive, so don’t make fun). In her blog entry, Crystal likened it to, get this…. BROWNIE BATTER. I am a HUGE brownie batter fan, so this was quite a claim. So I decided to take the plunge and try it, and guess what……

It tastes like brownie batter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh my goodness!! This stuff is incredible (at least in the taste department). I have yet to use it on a long run, but I plan on doing so this Saturday. Today however, I ate one pack before my 4 mile run. I’m not sure if it was the GU, or just  a fluke, but by 2.5 – 3 miles I definitely felt a pick me up. So here is my plan for Saturday’s 6 mile run: I am going to eat one before I start, and take along a second pack for half way through. I know how I feel without GU on my run, so I will keep you posted as to what difference it makes.

Now on to the GREAT DEALS. I took my son to Academy last night to get a new running shirt, so of course I had to look at running gear for me as well (DUH!), and I saw 4.88 clearance rack. Now, I usually don’t find anything good on these racks. They are usually thoroughly picked over and the only size remaining in anything is XXS. But last night, I hit the jackpot! I found a Nike running skirt for $2.88, Under Armour shorts for $4.88, another running skirt (Academy brand) for $2.88 and a running top for $2.88!! WooHoo! The Nike skirt alone was $44 regular price, so I feel that I did quite well.

Well, I have lots to do today. My dryer is on the fritz, and the earliest time we could schedule a repair was for NEXT Wednesday. So, I wash a couple of loads at home, then shuttle them over to the laundromat to dry. Exciting stuff… let me tell you!

Hope your day is an awesome one!

3 responses »

  1. yay!! i’m glad you liked it! 🙂 the mint chocolate is great too!

    and great job on the bargains, they never have my size in stuff i need on sale!

Leave a Reply

