Just Call Me “Speedy”

This morning I did some speed work. Before you get too amazed, I am pretty sure my definition of speed work varies greatly from the standard held by most runners. My version of speed work is to go faster than a 11:00 pace. Yep, that’s it. Pretty simple, huh. No split this or that or things that I don’t really understand, just a faster version of my slow self.

So, this how it all went down. Instead of my normal 10/1 interval, I did a 3/1. I ran at a 9:30 – 10:00  pace for 3 minutes, then jogged a 12:00 pace for the one minute. I did this for 3.11 (no, we can’t not forget that .o1 bit of mileage… any mileage needs to be mentioned) miles and felt very good. I even sprinted the last .1o mile (okay, I sprinted about .7 of that and jogged the last, last bit). Overall, I felt great at the end (I must confess that one of my last “jog” intervals I walked.. there, I said it). I really enjoy this run, and think I will do it again. I hoping that this, interspersed with my normal running will help just a bit. Then again, it may just all be in my head, and I’m good with that too.

Tomorrow, I have a run with Jude. We’ll do another 20 minutes, and then Thursday I’ll do 4 miles, at a more relaxed pace. I’m not sure what mileage I’m going to do on Saturday, I probably decide Friday night. Jude’s and my first run was very successful, and he said he enjoyed it. When I asked him how hard it was on the Official Hardness Scale of: 1- that was the easiest thing I’ve ever done to 10- my muscles have exploded, and he said it was about a 5 or 6; which is exactly where I wanted it to be. He then told me he was looking forward to our Wednesday run.

There is one thing that really makes me nervous about running with Jude. As he gets more and more fit, it’s going to be a really big challenge for me keep up. For those of you who don’t know, he’s about 6′ 7″ and growing, so you can imagine the stride he’s going to have once he starts picking up speed. I guess I’ll just have to cross that bridge when we come to it. I printed a running schedule so that he would have an idea of what we were going to be doing. On week 10 there is a 6 mile run slated. He was looking it over and saw that run and said, “I can’t wait to run 6 miles”. I really hope that running is something that he loves to do all his life…. but I may be getting ahead of myself.

Well, got to get the kids ready for art. Have fun doing whatever may be brought to you to do!

2 responses »

  1. Love your blog! I’m curious about which training plan you’re following? I’m using Hal Higdon, and I know he encourages walking breaks, but I actually almost never walk during my runs but I’m wondering if it might actually help me to run faster. Then again, I’m so slow that my run isn’t really that much faster than a walk anyway!

    • Hi, Tonya! Thanks for stopping by. I kinda have a mishmash of this and that, but I like Jeff Galloway’s approach. He encourages the use of walk breaks to avoid injury and helping to increase stamina. He has a website: http://www.jeffgalloway.com lots of good info there!

Leave a Reply

