Will Run for Chocolate

Yes, I will run for chocolate. And pizza. And chips. And ice cream. Oh, and don’t forget cake (but only on my birthday… or anyone’s birthday… or on anyone’s un-birthday). Cupcakes fit in there too. Basically anything that is on the “no” list. I run, so I can enjoy these treats. Not at every single meal, and not till I get sick or anything (well, unless it’s REALLY good birthday cake), but in moderation they are all good.

On the whole, I try to eat well balanced meals. But, I want everyone to know that I have an allergic reaction to most veggies (I have a doctor’s note… really, I do). I’m not a veggie kinda gal. There I said it. I like raw carrots, broccoli, and even edamame… but in very small portions and not very often. I’m sure my colon would like for me to, but up to now it hasn’t complained so neither have I.

Whilst starting this whole running thing, I have tried to become more aware of what I’m eating. I’ve bumped up my consumption of things like: yogurt, smoothies, fruit, granola, chicken and water (can’t forget the water!). But, I know that I will NEVER cut out those things that taste best to me: cheese burgers, pizza, cheese (this may be repetitive, but I like cheese), ice cream, french fries, and mostly CHOCOLATE (not just the pc dark chocolate, either. Nope all chocolate is just fine with me). And that, is one of the reasons I run, so I can enjoy them in moderation.

Moderation is key, as the saying goes, “Everything in moderation, including moderation”. See, the thing for me is not cutting out all the “good” stuff (argue with me if you will, but it’s still “good” food), it’s learning to enjoy it in moderation. Counterbalancing the freedom to eat what I want with exercise. That, to me, is a healthy lifestyle. And, I do understand and embrace that my attitude my keep me from being a size 2, but that’s okay… because with size 11 feet I’d probably look pretty stupid at that size anyway.

I do want to say that we have cut down a WHOLE LOT on fast food, and I feel really good about that (excuse me while I pat myself on the back). Now, where’s my chocolate?

Here’s to LIFE!

2 responses »

  1. well said Min!!! PAT PAT!!! there is your pat on the back 🙂 They are great words of wisdom you put there and you took the words right out of my head, because I feel the dame way! Here’s to Life!!!!

  2. Great post…. I have lost NO weight since starting running and I know it’s because I say to myself… “I run… I can totally eat this…” Gotta stop that… a little.

Leave a Reply

