Mother and Son Bonding

“Mom, can I start running with you?” My son, who is 14, asked me that the other day. He also asked me to show him some upper body weight routines as well. My next confession may throw me into the “worst mom ever in the history of mankind” category, but I have never pushed my kids towards sports or anything like that. Oh, I’ve asked them off and on “are you interested in playing X”, or something of that kind, but I’ve never pushed. I played sports in High School and really enjoyed it, and for most of my adult life I have enjoyed being active, going to the gym, etc. So, when Judah was 5 we put him into soccer (like every good American family should do, right), but he soon showed me that if he wasn’t interested in playing… well, he wasn’t going to play. I admit, I was a bit bummed but I wasn’t going to make him do something that he wasn’t enjoying. End of discussion.

So, you can imagine my surprise when he came up to me and asked if he could start running with me. THIS is what I wanted all along. I want them to be motivated INTERNALLY, because then it will be something lasting and enjoyable. And, the fact that he wanted to run with me, just made my day. We are going to start running together on MWF (my runs are on Tues. and Thurs.) doing the couch to 5k program. Once he builds up we can start running on Saturday’s together, too. I’m also going to buy some hand weights for him to use at home. Our deal is that he will workout at home until January, and then we’ll see about a gym membership.

We are starting next week. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes!

9 responses »

  1. That is so great! I always feel like children are so rushed and pushed into these things because “we” like them. Why do we feel like every minute of their day has to be scheduled? I love the face that he wanted to run with you and initiated it. That will hopefully be a bonding thing for you guys as well as just plain physical fitness. Who knows maybe Rach will want to join you sometime too:)

    • Kim, after I wrote this I realized that I didn’t really show an interest in sports until the age Judah is now… around 8th or 9th grade. Maybe there is something there… who knows. You never know about Rach, but I have a feeling she would follow her dad and adopt his “Hobbit Exercise Routine” before mine!! LOL

  2. I am so excited for you both & think it will be a great way for you to spend time together!! Can’t wait to hear how his first day goes!!

Leave a Reply

