Time, Time, Time

Yesterday I ran a very nice 5.1 miles at a very comfortable 11:41 pace. I know, I know! Shouldn’t I be pushing for that 9:00?? Even a 10:00?? Nope, not me. I’ve decided that I like a nice 11:00-12:00 pace. I enjoy it. And after all, why do something if you’re not going to enjoy it, right. I’m not sure how many more races I’ll do after I run the 6k and Half with Beth. I know that I will have a great time, but I’m not sure how much I want to incorporate that with my fitness. I don’t want to loose the joy. If this is going to be a lifestyle change, and a permanent addition to my way of living, then I CAN NOT loose the enjoyment.

I know some people thrive on competition, and to be very honest I am one of those people. However,Ā  it is very easy for me to get consumed; never good enough, always pushing. There are aspect of that attitude that are very good and healthy…. I’m just not sure I want that to be my attitude toward my running. I want to keep my running in it’s place in my life. A healthy place. An enjoyable place. But not an all consuming place. That is my decision and I think that decision will be so much better for me and my running habit in the long run (haha.. again such humor).

Beth, you’ve said you want to run with me during the races, and I would LOVE that. But, I’ll let you off the hook if I’m just going too slow, you have my permission and blessing to leave me in the dust. I promise there will be no hurt feelings whatsoever, but you will have to buy me breakfast afterward.

Remember, whatever you do enjoy it… it may not always be easy but there should be joy in the journey!

3 responses »

  1. That’s awesome!! I’d love to run with you, but figure like my last race & I ran most of it on my own-we’ll see how it goes. For the most part, it sounds like our pace is pretty similar. Just don’t let me push you too fast in the beginning- I think that’s part of where I went wrong last time. On a good note, we should have a good “feel” for how we run together with the 10k. Well that & anytime we run on a Sat together this fall. (Granted your distance is still more than mine) I look forward to the race & continuing finding a way for both of us to make running part of our life & not just for the race. :o)

  2. Rock on sister!!! I am glad that you have come to a new awakening in your life of how you want to perform it. It is always a good thing to have a wake up call and a refocus moment of want you want out of your fitness. There is nothing wrong with your pace it is a very comfortable pace that allows you to enjoy and endure longer runs šŸ™‚ I am so proud of your accomplishments and the challenges that you are beating in front of you! Run…Mindy…..Run….!

  3. I’m adding my ‘amen’ to that! Enjoyment is the key to sticking with it over the long haul. That’s why I’m still doing water exercise after 10 years — it’s the only kind I really love doing šŸ˜‰

    The biggest change I’ve sensed in you since you started running is your confidence in being able to accomplish your goals. That’s so cool & I’m cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

