“Officially” 4.05

I was able to do my long run outside today, as the temps around 8 were in the mid 50’s (never fear, though… some snow is forecasted for Tuesday). Since it was such a great morning, I wanted to take advantage and I am always reminded of the difference between running on a treadmill and running on the road (basically the major butt-kicking the outdoor running gives you). I started out and was doing just fine as I approached my .5 mile mark. I looked down at my Nike+ band, and  realized that I hadn’t started it! UGH! Technically I had .35 unlogged miles under my belt already. Call it my pride, but there was NO WAY I was going to let Nike+ log anything less than my goal of 4 miles for my long run this week…. NO WAY. So, my “official” run according to Nike+ was 4.05 miles in 51 minutes but “technically” it was 4.4 miles in about 57 minutes. Pride can be a killer, just ask my knees.

To get into specifics, I did 10/1, 10/1, 7/1, 5/1, 10/1, 10 then cool down (the cool down mileage is not counted in either my official time or my technical time…)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

