Back in the Saddle

At least I hope I am.  My running routine has been less than stellar this week, but I’ve chosen to embrace the rest and not feel guilty (or at least not too guilty). Yesterday I did my long run (which right now is .4 miles away from 4 miles) and felt great… NO TRIPPING, and I’m ready for Monday and the return to my schedule. I hope to get to 4 miles by the beginning/middle of next month. I’m not going to push it, but that’s my plan. I was able to run a solid 3.5 miles @ 4.7mph without any pain or pushing myself too hard. I added an extra .1 mile and jogged that. When I compete in a 5k (I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do the one in March, due to schedule conflicts..), I would really like to be able to run the whole thing, but again, I’m not going to push it. My goal is to finish, not hurt myself.  I’m so ready for it to get a little warmer so I can run outside more. It’s been pretty cold in our area (our normal high this time of year is in the 60’s), and we just got a foot of snow on Friday. I’m ready for shorts weather! I’m a Texan, after all!!

I also had to pick up some Body Glide at Academy yesterday (Phil called it my Valentines present), I felt like such an “official runner”. He also got me another Life is Good shirt (green with a mug of coffee on the front), they are the most comfortable shirts EVER! We went to go eat brunch at the Egg and I, and caught the movie Edge of Darkness. It was a wonderful day, and this morning I woke up to him cleaning the bathroom… the perfect Valentines gift!!

3 responses »

  1. Great Job!! Keep up the good work!! I totally know how you feel, I have been in a “running funk” for the last two weeks and having a hard time snapping out of it!! Hope I hurry up though my first ever half marathon is in 40 days!!

Leave a Reply

