Yeah, That’s What I Meant

So, I’ve been reading this book. It’s PACKED full of good info, and a great resource on all things running/walking. When I started this, I had this feeling that was hard for me to express. I told my mom, it was like a fear of “loosing myself”… but that didn’t quite fit. Today while reading I had a “Yeah! That’s what I meant” moment. It was in the chapter titled ‘Mental Training and Motivation’, here’s the quote:

“When you decide to run or walk a 5K, 10K, or half-marathon, you added the “runner” title to your self-image. This addition to your image can also lead to increased expectations. Expectations that exceed you abilities can take the enjoyment out of training.”

This is it. This is what I was feeling. To me the title of “runner” comes with a lot of expectations (most are internal, but some are external). For me, I was worried about meeting MY expectations of what being a “runner” meant. Some were reasonable, some were not. I had to sift through them all.

I can hardly believe it, but it’s been a month since this new chapter in my life began, and I have found that I have been through a re-defining process. Being a runner holds a different meaning for me now, one that I think is more balanced and realistic. I’m excited that this is becoming part of who I am, as a person. Building on what was already there… not destroying it. I want to intrinsically motivated, and I know that I can do this. I am so thankful for all the support I’m getting… from everyone! It’s means so much to me!

I’ll end with this quote:

“Everyone is an athlete. The only difference is that some of us are in training and some are not.” – George Sheehan

4 responses »

  1. This concept can be applied to so many other titles in our lives that come with expectations….like “homeschooling mom” and “aspiring chef”, to name a few.

  2. It’s hard to imagine you being defined as anything other than your Mindy-ness. 🙂

    Although, if you start to look like the lady on that book I might start thinking of you as “Mindy the Big-Headed One.” 😉

Leave a Reply

