Who Me?? A Marathon!!??

Ok, so it’s not quite a marathon. It’s a half marathon. But when you’re ME, a half one looks a bit like a full one! This is my journey to October 2010, when I will participate in running (a term I’m trying to come to grips with) 13.1 miles. Actually, I really am looking forward to it… as much as a person could look forward to something like that. I get to run it with my awesome Sis in Law, so that’s a bonus too. I also have 9 months to prepare, and I figure if I can prepare to have a baby in 9 months time, I can prepare for this. At least that’s what I keep telling myself.  As of right now, this very moment, I can “run” (run to me means a nice steady jog) 2.30 miles in 30 minutes. That seems like peanuts to what I need to do, but like the turtle said “Slow and steady wins the race” (although I’m not as concerned with winning as I am with finishing).

This blog is really just a place that I can post how I’m doing. My accomplishments… and my disappointments. Whine about my sore feet and any chaffing that might occur, and the general process I am about to undertake. I really hope it’s a joyful journey as well, one in which I can feel the satisfaction in accepting this challenge, meeting it head on, and doing something I’ve never done before. Will I become a “runner”? Well, I think by just competing in this I have, but I wonder if this will birth in me a new enjoyment that I’ve not had before. I guess only time can tell.

So, welcome and I hope you enjoy the journey with me… without the chaffing.

Mindy

2 responses »

  1. Go girl!!! You can do it!! I never thought that I could and I did it!!! I have a full 26.2 in 6 weeks!!! Be careful, it is addicting!!! I reccommend running a few 5K’s and 10K’s in the process….it really helps to keep you motivated!!! I am looking forward to reading your blog on your journey!!!

    • Wendy, that is great advice! Thanks for the encouragement, too. I’ve never been a runner, so this is something entirely NEW! It’s great to have people cheering me on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

